2AM

It’s 2AM in the morning, the day after Canada Day. As I write this, I’m wiping unproductive tears from my oversaturated face. I am unemployed.

My situation is hardly unique, given the horrible economy around the world. Recent graduates, recent immigrants, recently laid off – it’s all the same. We scramble to hand in resumes at overstaffed Starbucks stores, overqualified and utterly frustrated. All because we were screwed over by the rich white fatcats on Wall Street (or Bay Street, given my locale).

A little more about me: It’s month six of my job hunt. I am a major in a program that no one’s ever heard of.

Four years ago when I went into university, I followed the age old advice of “Do what you love!” Course, nobody tells you that doing what you love is also like voluntarily riding the funnest rides at your favourite amusement park until you puke up the lunch that you spent all your money on, then you try and figure out how to get home without anything cept the puke on your shirt. Kind of like that. I had my four years of intense rollercoastering and now I was paying the price, puking up ramen and microwavable meals into a ripoff of an apartment after two dollar martini nights.

I tried my best. The reason why I’m so frustrated right now? The reason why I bawled my eyes out last night until I fell asleep? Because I did not get a part time job that gives 10 hours a week. Pathetic, right?

I thought for sure I was a shoo-in for the job. If it’s anything that I had not learned yet through all this heartache, was that nothing is ever a given, especially when it comes to jobs.

This part time job was a tutoring job at my school’s writing centre. Let me give you the rundown of why I thought I would get the job:

1. I handed my resume in person, because
2. I had already been working part time as reception for the past two years and knew the director there and
3. Director and I had been friendly, gone out for drinks, etc, etc, and she’d been my reference for other job applications
4. I was working there for the past week as a summer sessional advisor, and
5. I was a graduate of the school, knew the community and the people who worked at the centre, won a scholarship, and was the top student in my major.

Sounds easy? I know, on paper I look pretty good. So yeah, forgive me if I just wasn’t a teensy bit disappointed. And you know what hurts? I wasn’t even shortlisted for an interview. After all that.

Well that’s enough for a 2AM rant. I will post soon about other disappointments (and surprises, don’t worry!) that come as my job search continues.

Leave a Reply

